A minimal clock plasmoid

Recently I’d been hankering for a really minimal date/time display on my KDE desktop, à la one of those ridiculously beautiful widgets available for Rainmeter on my Windoze install.

A bit of googling and dozens of deviantArt desktop screenshots later, I considered what appeared to be the most popular system monitor for Linux desktops, conky.

Well conky looked promising, but it soon proved to be a real pain to configure, and after repeated attempts to install some scripts from the internet, I kept running into problems like transparent areas being rendered opaque-black, and perhaps most importantly not being able to move the ‘widget’ by dragging it.

So this evening I had a bit of free time and thought I’d try my hand at making a minimal clock plasmoid. This isn’t the first time I’m making a QML plasmoid( my first one – http://quickgit.kde.org/?p=scratch%2Fkamath%2Fsmart_plasmoid.git ), so in an hour or so I managed to come up with this :

Image

Download it here : http://kde-look.org/content/show.php?content=156715

This perhaps still doesn’t come close in terms of elegance to some of the widgets for Rainmeter or maybe conky, but I’m happy with the result; it’s pretty close to what I wanted.

The font and text colour are configurable through the plasmoid settings menu.
I’ve used the Geo Sans Light font (get it here) in the screenshot. Here’s the wallpaper.

Tagged , , , , , , ,

16 thoughts on “A minimal clock plasmoid

  1. Is the source code available somewhere? I’m curious of how you managed to get that clean look using QML

  2. It’s very nice. Please move it to “Plasmoid script” instead of “Plasmoid binary” on kde-look.org so it’s possible to install via get hot new stuff.
    Why does it have a AM/PM indicator when I use 24h clock?
    Kudos for doing a really nice clock!

  3. Emdek says:

    Quick and dirty theme (requires a bit of polishing) for Adjustable Clock. ;-)

    http://paste.kde.org/663986/

    http://kde-apps.org/content/show.php/Adjustable+Clock?content=92825

  4. markg85 says:

    That looks rather neat! Nice job!
    However, a few issues as well..
    – It’s _way_ too big on my display (1680×1050). Sure, i can edit the QML and am probably very capable in doing that since i’m playing with QML a LOT but still..
    – The plasma bar that appears when hovering the plasmoid is behing the AM/PM text.. I can barely see the buttons for config/resize/…

  5. mphilippi says:

    Made a nice theme for Adjustable Clock. Quite similar to your one. This one uses relative sizes and is scalable in size.

    %H:%M
    %S
    %Z
    SR: %o SS: %O

    %A, %d.%b.%Y

  6. ben says:

    How can I change this into 12 hour time? I assume it’s just a string I can add to the config file.

  7. martouf says:

    this is an excellent plasmoid! thanks! Font size proportional to widget size an upcoming feature? or just selectable font size (set smallest type, the rest computed from that) ?
    12/24hr display checkbox in config?

  8. hi and thanks for great plasmoid! anyway – I have one question – it would be great to have this plasmoid as desktop widget on locked sreen (just because it doesn’t allow access to calendar). I don’t know why, but this one is not listed in available widgets.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

